STEVE CONTE – Musician

Steve Conte is a New York City musician; guitarist and singer of the band Steve Conte & The Crazy Truth. Their eponymous, critically acclaimed, Steve Conte-produced debut album was released on October 20, 2009 on Varèse Sarabande Records. He was also lead singer/guitarist/songwriter of The Contes, along with his brother John Conte, both formerly members of the band Crown Jewels.

He is perhaps more popularly known for being former lead guitarist of the New York Dolls. Conte also plays guitar in Hanoi Rocks singer Michael Monroe‘s new band —along with fellow New York Doll and bassist Sami Yaffa, and guitarist Ginger of The Wildhearts.

Conte first became known to the music industry in the early 1990s as the songwriter and guitarist of the band Company of Wolves (Mercury Records) and has since worked with artists such as Peter Wolf, Willy DeVille, Maceo Parker, Phoebe Snow, Billy Squier, Suzi Quatro, Jill Jones, Chuck Berry, Paul Simon, Simon & Garfunkel, David Johansen & The Harry Smiths, Willie Nile and Eric Burdon & The Animals.

His songs appear in many feature films including The Perfect Age Of Rock ‘n’ Roll, Growing Pains and network television shows (Sons Of Anarchy, Smallville).

Conte often works with composer Yoko Kanno and lyricist Tim Jensen, performing on soundtracks to anime series, such as Cowboy Bebop, Wolf’s Rain and Ghost in the Shell. He sings lead on “Stray,” the opening theme to Wolf’s Rain as well as the tracks “Heaven’s Not Enough” and “Could You Bite the Hand?” All three appear on the OST albums. Conte’s vocals can also be heard in many episodes of Cowboy Bebop as well as the 2001 film. most notably, the songs “Call Me Call Me,” “Words That We Couldn’t Say,” “No Reply,” and “Diggin’.” He also sang the OST CD version of “Rain,” which is sung by Mai Yamane in the series. He would later sing alongside Shanti Snyder on “Living Inside the Shell,” the ending theme to 2004‘s Ghost in the Shell: Stand Alone Complex 2nd GIG.

He also performed on the duet “The Garden of Everything” with Japanese singer Maaya Sakamoto on her RahXephon-related single “Tune the Rainbow.”

He provided the vocals for the 2007 video game Sonic and the Secret Rings closing credits song titled “Worth a Chance,” as well as the game’s main theme “Seven Rings in Hand.”